Zlata Chochieva_B96A0767-credit-Kristina-Radiy

Foto: Kristina Radiy


Russian pianist Zlata Chochieva first came to international attention with her highly-praised recordings of works by Chopin and Rachmaninov (Piano Classics), establishing her as a distinctive voice amongst pianists with a deep affinity with these composers. Zlata Chochieva has appeared at many prestigious concert halls and festivals, and with numerous major orchestras and conductors, incl. Mikhail Pletnev who became her mentor at an early age.Highlights of the 2018/19 season included her solo debut at Wigmore Hall, appearances at the Zaubersee Festival in Lucerne and the Berliner Klavierfestival, and with the Svetlanov State Orchestra and the Russian National Philharmonic. Furthermore she performed twice in the Serate Musicali series in Milan. In 2019/20 Zlata will be appearing as “Artist in Focus” in three different programmes with the Aachen Symphony Orchestra. Solo debuts include the Vienna Konzerthaus, Vancouver Chopin Society, Brussels Chopin Days, as well as various festivals across Europe. A return to the Aarhus Symphony Orchestra will see her participate in the orchestra’s Tchaikovsky Festival with performances of his piano concerto no. 1 and piano trio. Zlata Chochieva was born in Moscow and first appeared on stage at age 5, making her orchestral debut two years later at the Grand Hall of Moscow State Conservatory. Her teachers have included Pavel Nersessian at the Moscow State Conservatory and Jacques Rouvier at the Mozarteum Salzburg where she was his assistant for several years. She is based in Berlin.

Friday, 20.08.2021
4.30 pm & 8.30 pm: Recital

Zlata Chochieva

Festival programme

Henry Cowell
The Aeolian Harp (1923)
Isaac Albéniz
La Vega (1897)
Pierre Sancan
Berceuse (2001)
Boite à musique (1950)
Toccata (1943)
Edvard Grieg
Albumblätter op.28
Allegro con moto (1864)
Allegretto espressivo (1874)
Vivace (1876)
Andantino (1878)

Walzer-Caprice op.37 Nr.2 (1887)
Franz Liszt
Valse oubliée Nr.2 (1882)
Mephisto Walzer Nr.2 (1881)
Nikolaj Medtner
Elegie op.59 Nr.1 (ca.1940/41)
Sergej Rachmaninow
Kanon in e-Moll (1890/91)
Gavotte D-Dur (1887)
Prélude F-Dur
Morceau de fantaisie g-Moll (1899)
Fragments (1919)
Orientalische Skizze (1917)
Mendelssohn/RachmaninowScherzo (aus „Ein Sommernachtstraum") (1933)